The blind boy–Africa 

“I do recollect how one of those drugged-up minors specializing in amputation shoved a short gun in my face and said: ‘You either let us take away this boy to slaughter or you both get perished.’ The little blind boy was too young to understand what was going on. However, after hearing these boy soldiers shout and shoot into the air he knew something had gone wrong. The boy became terribly frightened and as a result held me so tight.”

Xiao-he, what had been your mission there at that village, and how did you find this boy?” I interrupted.

“I had gone there to look for my business partner who had gone there to bring his family back to the capital. Before he left, he told his private secretary that he’d be back the following day. He didn’t return after five days. As I had very important issues to discuss with him, I decided to go find him at the village.”

Xiao-he, how did you know he was still in that village?”

“I couldn’t have known without first going there to find out.”

“But you could have called him on his mobile phone to find out?”

“It wasn’t possible to reach him by phone.”

“Why wasn’t that possible?”

“You’re talking about Africa aren’t you?”

“Yes, I know. But Africa is a continent—not a country. There are other parts of the continent that are relatively developed.”

“Yes, I know. But the overwhelming number of poor and underdeveloped countries situated in that continent alone makes it impossible for us, the Chinese people to differentiate between them.” To us Africa is Africa. Okay? Let the politicians and the intellectuals do the differentiation.” He said fearlessly and angrily.

” The the blind boy was snatched away…”

“Then what happened to that innocent boy?” I asked with a shaky voice…and tears dropping down my tired cheeks.”

” I cant’ tell, but I do believe the boy wasn’t spared.”

“How do you know?”

“Shortly after the boy was taken away…”

Xiao-he paused for a moment.

“I heard gun shots.

“And then?”

To be continued…

