Dad is jealous of Mama’s American Boyfriend

 “I will go to Church with you tomorrow to meet Pastor Ofori.” Dad re-assures

 Mama.

 “What did you say?”

 “I wish to meet Pastor Ofori, for counseling. For my behavior. To stop it.  So   I   never leave you again. I didn’t mean to do what Idid.”

 “Are you coming to see Ayoma off or you are coming to stay with me?” I say.

 “I can’t leave this house again.” He says.

 “You’ll have to, when I call the Police.” I say.

 “Please don’t, Letitia. I’m begging you not to, please! It could destroy my reputation. The reputation I’ve worked so hard to build.”

 “What reputation? Your reputation of being addicted to fast women and fast cars. You should have thought about your reputation before leaving me for the third time. You only need me when you’re in trouble or broke.”

 “I did think about it.”

 “Oh, you thought about it, and your brain gave you the go ahead, is that so?”

 “No. I mean, I wasn’t thinking when I was doing all those nasty things. That’s now the whole problem.”

 “What in the world would compel you to do what you did. Are you not a practicing Muslim who is supposed to know better?”

  “I don’t know.”

  “And then keep doing it?”

  “Letitia, I honestly don’t know.”

  “Think about it for a moment! If you don’t know, who the hell does?”

   “Eh! Are you now dating an American?”

    “What makes you think so?” Mama asks.

   ” You are saying  the ‘who the hell’ thing”. I’ve never heard you use that phrase until now.” Dad replies.  

 “What did you just say?”

  “I mean who the hell is that American guy?”

 “Have you not just used the same phrase…’who the hell’…?”

 “Letitia, spare me, is it only the Americans who use the ‘who the hell’ stuff?”

 “Are you not now contradicting yourself?”

 “Are you now dating an American guy?” Dad repeats his previous question.

“I guess so.” Mama answers.

“Oh, really!”

“Are you jealous?”

“I’m not jealous. Just asking.”

He just shakes his head.

“You’ve got an appetite for foreign men. By the way, where is that American guy?

“He’ll be coming today to see Ayoma off.”

“What? To see my son off. Is he crazy?”

“No, it’s rather you who is crazy.”

“I’m going to wait to see who this guy is.”

“You’ll surely meet him. He’s a true lover. Not your kind.”

“Don’t annoy me further.” He says.

“I’m not afraid of annoying the day light out of you.”

 “I know that. But I keep hoping you’ll not. Look Letitia, what I did to you in the past is despicable and I want to get help.”

  “I fold my arms, wishing they were baseball bats.”

To be continued…

 

