Abudu’s natural treachery finally catches up with him          

“But Officer, she wouldn’t feel comfortable with you behind the wheels. You’re a stranger!”

      “Why are you so heartless? Its going to take you the whole afternoon to fix this car or even get a taxi, I’ll not allow you to cause the death of this girl. I’m sending her to the hospital right away!”

   “Officer, may I accompany you to the hospital?”

   “No, you’d better stay behind and take care of your car.”

   Abudu was adamant. He would never let the police officer take me to the hospital all by himself. He had become so infatuated with me that he always drooled and gurgled whenever I was near him. While the two men quarreled over who would take me to the hospital, time went by slowly. Terseness is not one of Abudu’s virtues. He would talk until the crack of dawn if someone didn’t stop him.

Twenty-five minutes has passed. The officer ignores him. He’s helping me into his car. I can see Abudu’s knees knocking as he looks on apprehensively. The officer refuses to let Abudu join us in his car, asking him to rather tend to his car and go pay his traffic violation as soon as possible. Before we speed off to the hospital, I say to Abudu:

   “What’s so special about you insisting on sending me to the hospital?”

   “It’s because I’m responsible for your safety. I’m your head master.”

   “My safety for God’s sake. You were over-speeding until you had a flat tire. You would have equally caused my death.”

   Moving toward me as I sat at back of the car, Abudu says:

   “I’m really sorry. I didn’t mean to hurt you.”

   The officer speeds away.

   Abudu sounded penitent when I told him how much pain he had caused me. It was Abudu’s natural treachery that had finally caught up with him. He refused to let my best friend, Angelina accompany us. He deliberately made me fail in all my French oral exams. I was really appalled at his perfidy. He had sworn to me that he would be my confidant and protector at the boarding school, but then he betrayed my trust by purposefully delaying my swift transfer to the hospital.

He seemed to have more temerity than skill or sense. He was like that mountain climber who ended up at the bottom of the heap because he tried to climb a mountain that was much too difficult for him. His tenacious effort to keep me by his side, no matter how long it took to fix his car, or get a taxi earned him a bad reputation among his students. He spoke English with a lisp. Some irreverent students at our school took advantage of this to mercilessly satirize him in a skit at the school talent show.

To be continued…

