Nowadays if you dont already have the money, you ain’t gonna get it!

Some days ago, there was a teachers’ demonstration in the capital city of Accra, I do remember what one of the teachers said. “We are not asking them, (the government officials) to demolish their concrete villas and build huts to live in, we are only seeking their help to fix the holes in our own thatched roofs.” He was right.

While officials live in sprawling mansions, and drive luxury cars, teachers are forced to hold evening tutorial sessions and even accept bribes to eke out a living in the face of daunting odds. I really find it difficult to discard the past because it holds too much. I cannot forget the dusty, forgotten dreams of my youth. My Dad had been a teacher before, and I did witness first hand how hard it is to be born to a teacher in this part of the world.  

I do remember that one day when after a hard and hot day during the dry season, Dad came home late for dinner. As we sat around the table eating and watching TV, he asked without hesitation: “The fact that laborers engage in back-breaking work, but can’t buy a house, that farmers toil years round but can’t pay their children’s education, and that fishermen fish all year, yet only enough to feed and clothe themselves, indicates that, nowadays, if you do not have the money then you are no longer going to get it.”

Looking back, and as I sit right here in front of the cashier unable to pay for my discharge from the hospital, I realize that although Dad’s statement more than two decades ago may have been a sad testimony, its in fact the case as I sit helplessly and wondering what to do next.

To be continued…

 

